Sophie's World Blog

Food and ingredients that contains gluten

Food and ingredients that contains gluten

If you have Celiac Disease or are allergic to wheat gluten, you need to know what foods and ingredients are likely to contain wheat gluten. The best way to start a gluten-free diet is to stick with fresh meat, eggs, potatoes and pulses, and plenty of fruit and vegetables. When you begin feeling better, start adding in prepared foods that you have carefully vetted. Take it slowly so that you don't feel overwhelmed and can pay attention to each item you add to your 'safe list'.

It's important for you to do your own label-checking!

  • Even this isn't always fool proof though, as compound ingredients that make up less than 25 per cent of a food don't need to be labelled and could contain traces of gluten-containing grains. So if you are highly sensitive to gluten you should stick to specialised ranges of products available from health food stores or, for diagnosed coeliacs, on prescription.
  • Remember that "wheat-free" does not automatically mean "gluten-free." While a product may not contain wheat, it can still contain rye or barley in some form.
  • If you have any question about whether a food contains gluten, contact the manufacturer directly.

Please note that ingredients can sometimes change and that this list is not necessarily a list of all possible foods that may contain wheat gluten. This is a list of common ingredients and additives that contain wheat gluten.

General

Brown rice syrup
Canned baked beans
Cereal additives
Condiments made with grain distilled vinegar
Cooking sprays that contain grain alcohol
Dextrin
Duram
Einkorn
Emmer
Emulsifiers
Excipients
Far
Farina Fillers
Fried food in restaurants
Gluten stabilizers
Graham
Granary
Herbal teas made with malted barley
Hydrolyzed Plant Protein (HPP)
Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (HVP)
Kamut
Mir
Modified food starch
Most white pepper
Oat gum
Oatrim
Oils not pure
Olestra
Packaged pudding
Pretzels
Some alcohol based extracts
Some canned tuna
Some cheese spreads and dips
Some colourings
Some commercial candies
Some commercial salad dressings
Some corn syrups
Some flavourings
Some ground spices
Some ice creams
Some mustard powder
Some potato chips
Some preservatives
Some salad dressings
Some seasoned snack foods
Some sherbets

Vegetables

Black- eyed peas, canned (may contain hydrolyzed wheat protein)
Pepper, chipotle in Adobo sauce, canned (gluten content unknown)
Spaghetti/Marinara sauce (check ingredients)

Meats

Bacon, pork, cooked
Bacon, imitation
Fish, tuna, canned (may contain vegetable broth containing wheat)
Freeze-dried meats
Hot dogs or sausages
Processed meats
Prosciutto (gluten content unknown)
Seafood, imitation

Starches / Cereals

Bagel
Baguette
Barley
Bran
Biscuit
Bread, white/wheat/rye
Breadcrumbs
Buckwheat
Bulgur
Cornbread
Cornbread, packaged
Couscous
Crackers, saltine
Crackers, graham
Croutons, plain
English muffin
Wheat flour
Hoagie Roll
Melba toast, plain
Malts
Matzo
Millet
Rye
Semolina
Noodles, Ramen
Oats*
Orzo
Pasta, dry
Potato products, frozen
Tortilla, flour
Barley, dry
Cereal, oatmeal
Cereal, cream of wheat
Cereal, Kellogg’s All Bran Flakes
Quinoa

Dairy

Cheese, blue (Veined cheese)
Cheese, cottage, low fat (Modified food starch)
Cheese, fontina (Check for rennet)
Cheese, goat (Check for rennet)
Cheese, mozzarella, fresh (May contain vinegar)
Cheese, parmigiano-reggiano
Cheese, pecorino-romano (Check for rennet)
Cheese, ricotta, reduced fat (May contain vinegar)
Cool Whip (Modified food starch)
Creamers, non-dairy
Egg substitute (May contain unidentified vegetable gums)
Ice Cream (May contain alcohol flavorings)
Milk, soy (Usually O.K., check ingredients)
Sour cream, non fat (May contain maltodextrin)

Beverages

Ale / Beer (Gluten free beers are widely available but most common lagers, ales and stouts are made with wheat, barley, rye or other gluten containing grains.)
Bourbon (Grain)
Chocolate milk, commercial (liquid)
Cocoa mixes (dry)
Gin
Grand Marnier (unknown gluten content)
Ovaltine and similar malted beverages
Root Beer (Modified food starch)
Sherry (unknown gluten content)
Triple Sec (unknown gluten content)
Vodka (Grain)
Whiskey
Wine (U.S. wines are gluten-free)

Sweets

Chocolate, bakers, bittersweet (Gluten-free if pure)
Cocoa, dry, powered (Gluten-free if pure, not a mix)
Graham crackers (Wheat)
Pie (Wheat flour)
Pudding (Modified food starch)
Sherbet (Check ingredients)
Some candies
Splenda (safe if manufactured in the United States)
Wafer, Chocolate (Wheat)

Fats

Mayonnaise, reduced calorie (May contain vinegar)
Pam vegetable spray (Grain alcohol)
Sour cream, reduced calorie (May contain maltodextrin)

Legumes and Beans

Bean Paste (possible preservatives)
Tofu (gluten content unknown)

Miscellanous

Broth in soups and bouillon cubes
Capers (contains vinegar)
Chutney (Gluten content unknown)
Curry Powder (Contains flour to prevent clumping)
Harissa Sauce (Gluten content unknown)
Jerk rub (Gluten content unknown)
Soy sauce (often contains wheat)
Vanilla extract (May include grain alcohol)
Vinegar, cider (May include grains)
Vinegar, malt (Malt)
Walnut extract (Gluten content unknkown)
Worcestershire sauce (Distilled grain vinegar, hydrolyzed protein)
Instant dry yeast or yeast extract (Dry, active yeast is gluten-free)

May include distilled grain vinegar

Horseradish
Ketchup
Mustard
Pickle, dill
Pickle, gherkin
Relish

May contain flour to prevent clumping

Allspice
Cajun spice
Cardamom, ground
Cayenne pepper
Chili powder
Cinnamon, ground
Cloves, ground
Cumin
Garam Marsala
Garlic powder
Ginger, ground
Marjoram, ground
Nutmeg, ground
Seven spice seasoning

You may not expect it, but the following foods can also contain gluten:

  • Licorice: The chewy candy often lists wheat flour as one of the first few ingredients, although a number of brands now have a gluten-free option.
  • Veggie Burgers: Even some homemade patties -- contain wheat gluten, like hot dogs. Other faux meat products rely on gluten as well, since it can give a meat-y texture to these veggie replacements.
  • Prepackaged or restaurant foods (seasoned pasta and rice mixes, imitation fish, self-basting turkey, fried foods)
  • Some prepackaged shredded cheeses do contain small amounts of flour to prevent the product from sticking. Check the label carefully.
  • Many commercial spray oils use grain alcohol as a propellant. Check the label carefully, or purchase a pump sprayer and fill yourself.
  • Many grains and flours are processed in factories that also mill wheat and other gluten containing flours and cross-contamination could be an issue. Check the package to see if this has been certified gluten free.
  • There are also many additives and ingredients in packaged foods that may contain gluten. Always check labels and ingredient lists for these.
  • Tapioca flour is a good alternative replacing wheat flour but it important to check the label, because some brands have added wheat flour in it

*WHAT ABOUT OATS?

Pure oats are a gluten-free food, but most commercially processed oats have been contaminated during the growing, harvesting or processing stages. In the past, many experts recommended completely avoiding oats those on a gluten-free diet in addition to wheat, barley, and rye. Now, some oats are grown and processed separately, and can be labeled "gluten-free."

Many people with celiac disease are still advised to avoid oats initially. However, oats can help provide fiber and other important nutrients. Over time, most people with celiac can reintroduce pure oats in small amounts (about 1/2 cup of dry oats per day) without any trouble. If you do choose to include them, let your doctor know and only eat oats that are marked "gluten-free".

NOTES

Blue cheese has been proven through clinical testing to be gluten-free, although it’s better to be careful.

Fresh herbs and spices are safe. In a ground and packaged form, use caution as some manufacturers do use trace amounts of flour to prevent the product from caking. Most major manufacturers, such as McCormick, do state their single herb or spice products are gluten and additive free.

Lea & Perrins states that their Worcestershire products are gluten free, but ONLY the product distributed in the U.S. Other brands should be checked carefully for malt vinegar.

Heinz states that their brand of Red Wine Vinegar, Distilled White Vinegar, Apple Cider Vinegar, and Apple Cider Flavored Vinegar are gluten free, as are all of their varieties of Heinz Ketchup. Also gluten-free are Heinz Organic Ketchup, One Carb Ketchup, No Sodium Added Ketchup, and Heinz Hot & Spicy Kick’rs.

http://www.drgourmet.com/gluten/containsgluten.shtml#.UtWKWvtffMx
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-94864/Which-foods-contain-gluten-wheat.html#ixzz2qOwpzMHR
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/08/19/surprising-foods-with-gluten_n_3769463.html
http://www.healthline.com/health/allergies/gluten-food-list
http://www.diabetes.org/food-and-fitness/food/planning-meals/gluten-free-diets/what-foods-have-gluten.html#sthash.uOchKejs.dpuf

Attachment:

101 gluten list

Comments:

Copyright: Zsófia Michelin-Corporatum Oy, Content pictures copyrigh: Shutterstock, Development: e-Com